Year of Happy – January Love Letter

#YearofHappy

Allisonleighann and October June have created a year-long monthly blog series called #YearofHappy. There’s a prompt for every month (an activity, project, or post) to inspire you to “go out, experience life, do crazy wonderful things and bring back the findings onto your blog, all in the name of a happier year.” I thought this sounded like a lot of fun. When I saw the first prompt though, I wasn’t sure if I was going to do it. I don’t tend to get too personal on the blog (which is something I’m considering doing more of this year), but after I thought about it for a few days, I decided to go for it. Here’s the prompt:

Write a love letter to yourself. Write all the reasons you’re awesome, write down your hopes and dreams for the year ahead, any resolutions, heck, write what you had for lunch. Share why you’re grateful for 2014 and what you want to achieve in 2015. Share whatever you want – it’s your letter.

In the spirit of a happier year, my letter is more a list of things that make me happy versus hopes and dreams for the new year. Because, honestly, my hope for 2015 is to be happy. So my letter is short and to the point. Here we go!

Hey you,

I know this prompt was hard for you. I know that you struggle with happiness. I know that you fight every day to be happy, but I want you to know that you can do it. I believe in you. You are strong. For those days when you forget, here’s a list of things that make you happy:

  • Waking up early, getting a cup of coffee, and sitting in the quiet for a little while.
  • Having a dance party by yourself to some good music (your current favorite is “Uma Thurman” from Fall Out Boy)
  • Talking to fellow book lovers on your blog, on Twitter, on Goodreads. Do it often. You love them and they seem to love you too.
  • Listening to music in the car. I know you love audiobooks (they are awesome) but try not to overdo it. Remember to listen to music in between audiobooks for a day or two. You forget how much you love listening to music in the car every time you listen to an audiobook.
  • Going to the movies.
  • Working out. I know it hurts because of that darn arthritis, but stretch it out, go for a walk in the nice weather, lift some weights, anything. You feel better even if you are sore.
  • Go somewhere you’ve never been. Even if it’s only a couple hours’ drive. Just go! See beautiful places. Meet some strangers. Go on. You love it. Sometimes you just have to forget about money and do it. You feel restless ALL THE TIME if you don’t.
  • Taking pictures of books. Who cares how silly that sounds? It’s fun and creative and you need that.

Some things to remember:

  • Try not to get upset about the little things.
  • Try not to stress about the little things. I know you are a worrier. I know it’s hard not to stress when it feels like stress is a part of you, but do some of those things above and it gets easier. You can’t change what’s happened. Keep moving forward.
  • Don’t let the rude people get to you. You’re pretty good at letting the stupid things people say roll off your back, but sometimes the things people say still hurt. Just remember that not everyone is as nice or as polite as you.
  • Remember that you’re awesome. You tend to forget the things you can do when you put your mind to it. You can do anything.
  • Do those things that make you happy.
  • Don’t internalize your unhappiness, panic, stress, feelings. Write about them – even if no one reads it. Paint. Read. Even if you don’t really have anyone to talk to about it, you can find a way to let it out. Internalizing is bad. Bad, bad, bad.

2015 can will be a GREAT year. Don’t forget that. Do the things that make you happy. Keep moving forward but remember to stay in the moment. It’s okay to not feel happy every day and you are allowed to have bad days. That’s life. Just remember that you’ve got this. Be you, because you are awesome. You are a good person and I love you.

All the best,
Stefani
(January 2015)

18 thoughts on “Year of Happy – January Love Letter

  1. Pingback: #YearofHappy – I’m gonna pop some tags | Caught Read Handed

  2. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves & Wrappin’ It Up January 2015 |

  3. Oh gosh, this letter made me so happy. I love this post so much (and I think I’m going to jump on the #YearOfHappy bandwagon myself) – I think sometimes it’s hard to remember to do the things that make us happy, especially with so much internalised negativity in the world, and I wish you the best of luck in making 2015 a wonderful year for you. Sending hugs over! ❤

    • Thank you! ❤ I definitely think you should join in. It looks like it's going to be a fun year of posts and activities. I agree that it is hard to remember to do the things that make you happy, which is why I'm looking forward to this so much! If you do end up participating, link me up to your letter! ❤

  4. I LOVE this! First, yes, please do share more of yourself! I know I’d love to read more about your life, and I assume others would too 🙂

    Second, this letter is fantastic! I am so impressed that you did this, I can’t even seem to get a positive letter started in my head 😉 Seriously, I hope you are really able to stick to these things, because they sound like they make you very happy! I know for me, the first step is always the hardest, which is why I tend to skip it- but the times I don’t, I am always so glad I didn’t! (I should heed my own advice, I suppose!) Anyway 2015 sounds like it is going to be a GREAT year for you!!

    • It took a few days to get my letter out, which is why it was posted near the end of the month versus the beginning. Lol. I wasn’t sure if I wanted to share it and I wasn’t sure what to write, but once I sat down to do it, I felt pretty good about it.
      Also, thanks for the advice! My life isn’t super exciting right now, but I enjoy the blogs that get a little more personal, so I think I might do more of that in the future. 🙂

Leave a Reply

