Thursday Thoughts: Book to Movie Adaptations (Through April 2015)

One of my plans for my blog in the new year was to post more discussion/bookish-but-not-review posts. Thursdays seem the best day for that, as I’ve got something on my blog on Tuesday and Wednesday and I plan to post a review every Monday and Friday. So I’m starting Thursday Thoughts as a (hopefully) weekly post in which I talk about something bookish, whether that be about reading, bookish life, books themselves, new books, book to movie adaptations, whatever. Basically, every Thursday you’ll get a post from me about books. Of course, I’d love if you participated! You can post about what I’m discussing or just link me up to one of your discussion posts. 🙂

Thursday Thoughts at Caught Read Handed

As always, there are a TON of books being made into movies this year. I, like many of you, prefer to read the book before I see the movie, but I don’t want to waste my time on a book that I might not enjoy. So, I am listing some of the books below that will be on the big screen in the next couple of months for you and for me. Let me know in the comments if you’ve read any of these books and if they are worth the readOr if you are looking forward to any of these adaptations. [All book covers from Goodreads. All movie poster from Rotten Tomatoes]

The World Made Straight Book Cover   The World Made Straight Movie Poster

The World Made Straight by Ron Rash (January 9) – I haven’t read anything by him before but he’s got TWO books being made into movies this year. Not in a theater near me though.

Mordecai movie poster   The Mordecai Trilogy Book cover

The Mortdecai Trilogy by Kyril Bonfiglioli (January 23 – Mordecai) – Can I just say that the cover for the book and what I’ve seen of the trailer don’t look anything alike??

The Last Apprentice Book Cover   Seventh Son movie poster

The Last Apprentice by Joseph Delaney (February 6 – Seventh Son) – described as a fantasy thriller and stars Jeff Bridges in the movie. Sounds like something I’d like. Also, Jeff Bridges. Did I mention it’s Jeff Bridges?

Where Rainbows End book cover   Love, Rosie movie poster

Where Rainbows End / Love, Rosie by Cecelia Ahern (Feburary 6 – Love, Rosie) – Same author as P.S. I Love You. I’m ready to cry and then go see Sam Claflin be gorgeous son screen.

Fifty Shades of Grey

Fifty Shades of…HAHAHA. NOPE.

The DUFF book cover   The DUFF movie poster

The DUFF by Kody Keplinger (February 20) – I wasn’t sure about this one but I’ve seen so many bloggers talking about it recently, I think I’ll give it a shot.

Dead Stars book cover   Map to the Stars movie poster

Dead Stars by Bruce Wagner (February 27 – Map to the Stars) – Satire, Hollywood, culture and John Cusack in the movie? Pretty much sold. Probably won’t be in a theater near me.

Insurgent book cover   Insurgent movie poster

Insurgent by Veronica Roth (March 20) – I have, of course, read this. Putting it on the list in case you haven’t.

Serena book cover   Serena movie poster

Serena by Ron Rash (March 27) – I’ve wanted to read this one. Plus JLaw is in the movie. And Bradley Cooper. Should probably read before it comes out. Another that probably won’t be near me.

The Longest Ride book cover   The Longest Ride movie poster

The Longest Ride by Nicholas Sparks (April 10) – I HIGHLY doubt I’ll read this one, but if you guys think I should, I’ll take it into consideration. Lol.

The Moon and the Sun book cover

The Moon and the Sun by Vonda McIntye (April 10 – no movie poster yet) – Not usually a fan of historical fiction, but “King Louis XIV seeks immortality by trying to steal the life force of a sea monster.” Um, yes.

These are the book to movie adaptations I’ve noticed for the first four months of the year. Have you guys read any of these books? Should I check any of them out? Let me know in the comments!

26 thoughts on “Thursday Thoughts: Book to Movie Adaptations (Through April 2015)

  1. Hi dear, I want to say a few words about “Great Expectations”s movie versions here.
    The 1946 version is very faithful to the plot. The setting, sound and even dialogues are very successful.
    However, I can not say the same thing about the tv series (2011). However, it is still faithful.
    It is important to read the book before evaluating the filmic version. When someone reads the book and watches the movie, s/he can know if the movie is ok or not.
    You can visit my blog about the movie versions of “Great Expectations”
    http://www.booxoffice.co.uk

  2. Pingback: Sunday Funday [1] | She Reads A Lot

  3. I’ve already seen Love, Rosie and it was so good and not only because I could look at Sam Claflin all day. They did change quite a few things from the book though but for some reason I didn’t even mind that much. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Weekly Recap| Jan 18-24, 2015 | Oh, the Books!

  5. Okay I laughed when I saw the Fifty Shades thing, because at first, I was like “I cannot believe she added that one!” and then saw that you did not 😉 Well played! I would like to read Serena, and probably The Duff. I’d see Serena, but I doubt I’d see The Duff in theaters. Maybe in 5 years when it’s on ABC Family 😉

    Insurgent… I do not know what to make of that movie! The trailer was WEIRD, but also kind of intriguing? I did really like the book, but I am also a little wary of getting too invested because come on, what are they going to do with TWO Allegiant movies?! Love this post!

    • Haha! I’m glad you appreciated the joke. Yeah, definitely not going to read or watch Fifty Shades. I do want to read Serena and The Duff. I giggled at your ABC Family joke! Lol.
      Yeah, the trailer for Insurgent is super weird. I’m not sure what to make of it. I still want to see it but I’m not getting my hopes up especially after Theo James’ comment about the fact that they don’t have to stay true to the book.

  6. I really want to watch a couple of these movies, because I do have read them. But doens’t mean I don’t have any problems with them, because oh well its really long to explain. I really like discussions like these, I actually made a post of this theme in especific a couple of days ago. here is it GREAT POST!

  7. Great idea for a weekly post! You read my mind with it actually as I’ve been thinking about posting on my blog about book to movie adaptations.

    I’ve read the first couple of the Last Apprentice books and they were really good. From what I’ve seen of the movie trailer for Seventh Soon though I’m not impressed.

    • I’ve posted about book to movie adaptations several times (THG, Insurgent, etc) but I wanted to do a more comprehensive one. 🙂

      Well that stinks. I like Jeff Bridges, but we’ll have to see. That might have to be one I Redbox.

  8. Love this post! I may join you next week(:
    I haven’t read The DUFF or Where Rainbows End but I do want to! I’ve heard so many great things about the books, but I probably won’t read them anytime soon

    • That’s my main problem with books: too many books I want to read and not enough time! Lol. I think those will be the two that I definitely read from this list. I’ve heard awesome things about The Duff and I think Where Rainbows End/Love, Rosie sounds cute.

  9. Great post! I remember reading Love, Rosie several years ago. I didn’t realize it’s being made into a movie, but I won’t see it anyway. I don’t get to see movies as often as I’d like to these days. I will definitely be seeing Fifty Shades. LOL. I loved that series.

    I used to be a huge Sparks fan and read every book he wrote. The Longest Ride is the first book of his I haven’t read, yet. It may be one where I decide to just rent the movie and skip the book. His last few books have been a disappointment for me.

    Another movie I’d like to see this year is Still Alice. I enjoyed that book, and it’s winning a lot of awards these days.

    • I think his last few books haven’t been up to par because he was having difficulties with his marriage (he’s getting a divorce now) and he usually model the female characters after her.

    • I think I’ll probably read Love, Rosie. Definitely won’t read Fifty Shades. I’ve tried Sparks but just couldn’t connect with any of them. I’ve seen a few of his movies and thought they were all pretty much the same. Several of my patrons at the library LOVE him though.
      Yes! Still Alice. I doubt the movie will be anywhere near me, but I’d like to see that one.

  10. You should definitely read Serena by Ron Rash! I read it last year and really enjoyed it! Of the other books-to-movies you’ve mentioned I have read: Insurgent, The Longest Ride and Fifty Shades of Grey.

Leave a Reply

