Seize the Tuesday – Rereading Forever

Seize the Tuesday is a book blogger meme created by Adi Alsaid and the Let’s Get Lost Buddies Street Team, to share stories about how we’ve seized the Tuesday, with a special focus on the particular book we’re reading. We’ll share our posts online with the hashtag: #LetsAllGetLost. The idea is to share little ways in which you may have embraced Bree’s motto of seizing the Tuesday. To relate it to books, you can talk about what book you’re reading, and how you stole some moments from the day to enjoy reading. It doesn’t have to be about reading, but we all know that a well-read day is a day seized. The idea is not just to help spread the word on LGL, but also to remind people to live fully, even/especially if that means spending a part of your day reading.

Seize the Tuesday - Let's Get Lost

Since starting my blog, I haven’t reread a single book. I didn’t typically reread before starting my blog either, but I would reread a favorite every once in a while. Recently I decided to reread the Wolves of Mercy Falls series by Maggie Stiefvater before I read the latest book in the series, Sinner, a companion novel. I enjoyed Shiver, but the flaws in the story Forever(INSTALOVE!!!) were more apparent to me. Linger was wonderful and heartbreaking and lovely. Right now I’m rereading Forever, and I love being able to see how Maggie’s writing developed as she wrote this series. The story and the werewolf mythology are fascinating to me, and the development of all the characters (and introduction of new ones) gets better and better with each story.

I didn’t really do anything that fun or interesting today, so I thought today’s post could be on how wonderful it can be to reread a great book. I’m making my way through Forever and taking my time so that I can appreciate Maggie’s beautiful prose and brilliant storytelling.

Alright, I’m going to go read now. Have a wonderful night (or morning or afternoon; you guys live everywhere!).

Seize Read the Tuesday!

6 thoughts on “Seize the Tuesday – Rereading Forever

  1. On my Kindle I belong to that Kindle Unlimited monthly book program thingy, and I was looking for a book that was also an audiobook too.
    Well, the book that I chose was Shiver.
    I had gotten the most recent book in the series in June at the Book Expo. Sinner is the name of it, I believe.
    Having never read any book in the series I just put it away for awhile.

    When I first started the book I went to a little restaurant by my house to get a BLT and some fries and a milkshake too. 😃
    I ended up sitting there for nearly 2 hours just listening to the story.
    I kept wondering why they would announce the temperature at the start of every chapter and then it all fell into place. I loved the book!!!
    I got book 2 recently so I’m going to read that very soon so it’s all fresh in my mind.

    Although I have to say I am a little disappointed. I did not want him to UnWolf himself.
    Another thing that confused me was this: maybe I read this wrong or misunderstood it, but I was under the impression that if Sam turned into a wolf again he would not turn back to human.
    Like it was the end or something.
    That’s why she did not want him to turn, and kept trying to keep him in warm places, and then she gave him the meningitis shot.
    Was I right about that? Would he have stayed a wolf if he had turned again for an entire season?
    Because Beck who had been a wolf a heck of a lot longer was still turning back to human. Or was it Beck who would not turn back to human again after this final season?
    Sorry about the questions I listened to it in audiobook form and I am new to audiobooks so I feel like somethings escape me.

    • Yes, you were right. If Sam had turned into a wolf again, he would have stayed that way. They do mention the fact that he didn’t have as much time as both as the others, but no one really knew why. Just wait until you keep reading, because while Sam un-wolfed himself, something happens in book two that is just as interesting. 🙂 Also, you meet Cole, so that’s a wonderful thing.
      I’m glad you’re enjoying them! I just reread Forever (book 3) and I loved it even more the second time. I haven’t read Sinner yet, but I plan to very soon. I’m looking forward to it.

  2. I felt the same way when I reread this series recently. The first time around I was crazy about Shiver and less impressed with the following installments. When I read it again I too was irked by the insta love element of the first book and wildly more satisfied by the second and third books. I love the way the series concludes. And you are so right about seeing Maggie’s writing style develop throughout the progression of the trilogy. The first Stiefvater book I read was Raven Boys (early 2014) and I was so awed by it that I bought all of her books. Reading Shiver after TRC was strange because you can tell her voice has changed so much from when she started.

Leave a Reply

