Top Ten Tuesday: 2015 bookish and not-so-bookish resolutions

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. Today’s theme was:

Top Ten Goals/Resolutions For 2015 — bookish, blogging or otherwise!

Top Ten Tuesday

Happy [almost] New Year, everyone! I don’t usually make new year’s resolutions, but I’m going to list a few bookish and a few general things that I hope to do this year.

Bookish:

  1. Read one book every two months that I wouldn’t normally read – I work in a library, but I can’t usually recommend romance-y type books to my patrons because I don’t read them, so I want to read books by authors like Debbie Macomber or Susan Wiggs and other books I wouldn’t normally pick up. Expanding my horizons.
  2. Read at least 100 books, including novels, comics, children’s books.
  3. Write two reviews a week on my blog. This really isn’t for anyone but myself. I like having a consistent blogging schedule, but I’ve been sort of spotty on book reviews. I hope to do a book review (book, audiobook, comic, children’s book, etc) every Monday and Friday.
  4. Read at least half of the books on my TBR that I already own. I have three full bookshelves full of books I haven’t read. I want to read at least half of them.
  5. Read an entire shelf on my TBR pile before I buy more books. I tend to buy books even when I have way too many I already haven’t read, so I want to try to read some before I buy more. My own book buying ban. We’ll see how it goes.

General:

  1. Go to at least three places I’ve never been before. I am planning to go to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter next year. I’ve been to Orlando, but not the Wizarding World. Yet.
  2. Make more.
  3. Paint more.
  4. Write more.
  5. Stress less.

What are some of your resolutions?

35 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 2015 bookish and not-so-bookish resolutions

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite TTT topics | Caught Read Handed

  2. Yes, I am the same way with the books! I have so, so many unread books, yet I keep on buying more! Why!? I even have at least 20 pre-ordered. Stop the madness! And of course, stressing less is on mine too 🙂 It is so, so necessary (and overdue!), so hopefully 2015 will be our year! Good luck with all these, hope you achieve every one!

    • Probably won’t make it out of the country this year, but I’ve been to several other countries already, so that’s alright. I want to visit more places in the US that I’ve never been. The Wizarding World of HP for sure. Would love to be able to visit Seattle – I’ve always thought I’d love it there. I would also like to go somewhere where there’s mountains. I’m not 100% sure of anything yet. I just love to travel. 🙂

  3. I can’t wait to hear about your trip to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter! (I did the studio tour in London but I really want to go to the park, too!) I need to work on my already-owned books as well! Good luck 🙂

  4. Stress less, stress less! I went for 100 books this year and am sitting on 99 now with only about 40 pages left in one of them. I was going to cut back to 80 – 90 for 2015 since I seem to have a lot of very long books coming up, but after going to the library today for one book and leaving with five, maybe I’d better keep it a 100, lol. You’ll appreciate this – it’s like the two librarians were having a contest to see who could make me check the most books they recommended. No joke, each one would talk about a book and then run and grab it off the shelf for me.

    • So far this year I’ve read 153 books (including a few children’s books, lots of comics volumes, and lots and lots of novels). I read pretty quickly, so 100 isn’t too ambitious for me! 🙂
      I can’t wait for the Wizarding World of HP!!!
      Happy New Year!

Leave a comment