Review: Angels in the Snow by Matt de la Peña (My True Love Gave to Me)

Today is day three of my very own “Twelve Days of Christmas”, during which I’m reviewing one story per day from My True Love Gave to Me. So far I’ve reviewed Rainbow Rowell’s “Midnights” and “The Lady and the Fox” by Kelly Link.

Today’s story is Matt de la Peña’s “Angels in the Snow.”

My True Love Gave to MeIMG_20141216_122842

I’m not sure how I felt about this one. I enjoyed the writing style but it felt a little weird. I liked the story but I didn’t connect with the characters as much as I would’ve liked. I thought the romance was cute but the SPOILER cheating really irritated me.

I did enjoy the writing style for the most part. I would be interested in checking out some of Matt’s books. One thing that I’m not sure how I feel about is the fact that you can tell a dude wrote it. I hope this makes sense. Obviously, I read books written by men, but this one was a dude. Probably doesn’t make sense. Moving on…

I didn’t connect with the characters all that much. On the other hand, I connected with some of the things they said. I’ve been giving at least one quote from each book, so here’s today’s:

Sometimes I feel like a shook-up bottle of soda. Like, I have all this passion that wants to explode, but I don’t know where to aim it yet.

That’s me. I feel like that. That’s such a perfect description of what being passionate feels like.

Overall, this one kind of felt like a Lifetime made-for-TV movie. Just kind of cheesy and lots of drama and all that jazz. The end was really wonderful though. The last paragraph was really poignant.

Come back tomorrow when I’ll be reviewing Jenny Han’s story “Polaris is Where You’ll Find Me”.

14 thoughts on “Review: Angels in the Snow by Matt de la Peña (My True Love Gave to Me)

  1. Pingback: My True Love Gave to Me – GIVEAWAY | Caught Read Handed

  2. Pingback: Review: Ally Carter’s and Laini Taylor’s stories from My True Love Gave to Me | Caught Read Handed

  3. Pingback: Review: Welcome to Christmas, CA by Kiersten White (My True Love Gave to Me) | Caught Read Handed

  4. Pingback: Review: Gayle Forman’s and Myra McEntire’s stories from My True Love Gave to Me | Caught Read Handed

  5. Pingback: Review: Krampuslauf by Holly Black (My True Love Gave to Me) | Caught Read Handed

  6. Pingback: Review: Your Temporary Santa by David Levithan (My True Love Gave to Me) | Caught Read Handed

  7. Pingback: Review: It’s a Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown by Stephanie Perkins (My True Love Gave to Me) | Caught Read Handed

  8. Pingback: Review: Polaris is Where You’ll Find Me by Jenny Han (My True Love Gave to Me) | Caught Read Handed

  9. Pingback: WWW Wednesday [10] – My true love gave to me embarrassing true stories | Caught Read Handed

Leave a Reply

