SUNDAY FUNDAY: WEEK IN REVIEW [16] – Wisdom teeth, wands, and blue lilies

The lovely Cristina over at Girl in the Pages started Sunday Funday as a way to recap the bookish (and not-so-bookish) things that have happened that week.

October 13 – 19, 2014

So I got my wisdom teeth out on Friday. Fuuuun. Yeah, that was sarcasm. It wasn’t nearly as bad as everyone I’d spoken to made it out to be, but I’m still a little sore and that’s no fun. Luckily, I didn’t go crazy on the anesthesia or have a lot of swelling or anything!

Things you might’ve missed on the blog this week:

ARC Review of Maggie Stiefvater’s Blue Lily, Lily Blue

Members of Adi Alsaid’s (Let’s Get Lost) street team, of which I am a part, have started a weekly meme called Seize the Tuesday. Here’s my first post.

I really enjoyed this week’s Top Ten Tuesday – Places books have made me want to visit.

Coming up on the blog this week: My first blog tour! I’ll be participating in Stacey O’Neale’s Mortal Enchantment blog tour on Tuesday. Usually I have more of the week planned, but the whole wisdom teeth thing has put me behind schedule. I’ll have Top Ten Tuesday and Waiting on Wednesday as usual, and probably Seize the Tuesday and WWW Wednesday. I plan on having a couple of reviews too! 🙂

Books read:

I didn’t read that much this week, unfortunately. I read Bats at the Library at the library. 🙂 I also started The Night Circus, finally. I had to take a break from it this weekend, 1. Because of the wisdom teeth, and 2. Because I needed to reread Mortal Enchantment before the blog tour. I read some comics and I am now completely caught up with Saga and The Walking Dead! I also tried Gotham Academy, but I’m not really sure how I feel about that one. Has anyone tried that one?

TBR: I didn’t buy any new books/comics this week, but I added a few books to my TBR. In Mississippi, there’s this award called the Magnolia Award, which is awarded two children’s books in a few different categories. I will be reading the books nominated in the young adult category (9-12 age range) for my library, so I’ve recently added these books to my TBR (Eleanor and Park and Every Day were already on it):

45 Pounds (More or Less) by K.A. Barson; Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell; Every Day by David Levithan; Orleans by Sherri L. Smith; Since You Asked by Maurene Goo; I’ll also be reading Doll Bones by Holly Black, which is in the 6-8 age range. Have you guys read any of these? I plan on starting with Every Day.

Non-bookish things I’m excited about:

I got these awesome new shoes today!

20141019_161947

At the library where I work, I planned a wand making event. We had a huge turnout, and it was a lot of fun. These are the wands that my boss, my coworker, and I made. Mine’s the one in the middle. 🙂

20141016_170208

Update me on your liiiiives! What have you read this week? Anything exciting happen?

17 thoughts on “SUNDAY FUNDAY: WEEK IN REVIEW [16] – Wisdom teeth, wands, and blue lilies

  1. I love the wands! When I was deep in my Harry Potter obsession, I usually just rolled up a piece of paper and taped it together, using that as a wand. And then I’d jump around my room, shouting random spells XD

    I read The Blood of Olympus this week and started The Young Elites. I’m still working on finishing The Young Elites, and so far (I’m about halfway through), it’s pretty good!

    I like your shoes 😀 I got a new pair of boots, which I’m in love with, haha. Have a great week!

    • I need to check out The Young Elites! I’ve heard such good things about it. I haven’t read her other books yet though, so maybe I should start with Legend.
      Making wands was a lot of fun! We had kids and adults participating. 🙂

  2. I’m glad your recovery from the wisdom teeth hasn’t been too bad.
    I ❤ Bats at the Library! The illustrations of the bats as literary characters are incredible!
    Those are, indeed, awesome shoes! 🙂
    I woke up to the sounds of my children playing Harry Potter on Saturday (wingardium leviosa!) – we should make wands some time.

    I spent most of the week reading Clariel by Garth Nix. It was sadder than the other Abhorsen books, but still fantastic.

Leave a Reply

