Top Ten Tuesday: Difficult Reads

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. Today’s theme was:

Top Ten Books That Were Hard For Me To Read (because difficult of book, subject matter, because it was cringeworthy– however you want to interpret)

As always, titles are linked to their corresponding Goodreads page. If I’ve reviewed the book on my blog, I’ll link to it after the title.

It's Kind of a Funny StoryBECAUSE OF THE SUBJECT MATTER

It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini – here’s my review

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson – here’s my review

BECAUSE I KEPT ROLLING MY EYES

If I Stay by Gayle Forman – here’s my review

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han – I reviewed this one on WatchPlayRead

BECAUSE I DIDN’T WANT THE SERIES TO ENDExit Music

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by JK Rowling

Exit Music by Ian Rankin – thank goodness this ended up not actually being the end.

Allegiant by Veronica Roth – this was hard for more than one reason. I’m sure you could guess all of them

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

What about you? What books were difficult for you to read? Why? Link me up to your TTT!

25 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Difficult Reads

  1. I actually haven’t read most of these – I tend to procrastinate hardcore when I know I’m going to have a hard time with it (*cough*TFioS*cough*). And there’s always something sort of…sad and yet exciting when you get to that last book in a series – especially the longer ones.

  2. Great picks, and great way to segregate them! I was going to include HP too because reading that last book was a horrible and amazing experience all at once! Going to check out a couple of these that I’ve not read though, and curious to see your review for If I Stay, as I just finished it recently.

    I did that thing again, where I post a post before it’s ready (I REALLY need to work on that!), but I’ve FINALLY updated it 🙂 http://confessionsofabookgeek.wordpress.com/2014/09/30/top-ten-tuesday-difficult-reads/

  3. Love that you included series enders. I didn’t think to do that, but if I had HP, Allegiant, and Mockingjay would’ve made my list too. Allegiant scarred me last fall!

  4. From your list I’ve read If I Stay, HP, and Mockingjay, and I agree 100% with you on those!
    I didn’t participate this week, but those 3 would’ve easily made my list, along with A Summer to Die by Lois Lowry (subject matter), The 5th Wave by Rick Yancy (eye rolling), and several of the Anne of Green Fables books (LOVE that series, but there’s a lot of death).

Leave a Reply

