Children’s Book Reviews: Stuck by Oliver Jeffers

I’ve recently become kind of obsessed (okay, super obsessed) with Oliver Jeffers’ books. I love them. They are adorable and genius and simple and wonderful. Did I mention that I love his books? Haha. I’ve already reviewed The Day the Crayons QuitThe Incredible Book-Eating Boy and The Way Back Home. Anyway, I’ve pretty much read all of his books that are currently in my library’s system, so this week, I’m going to do six mini reviews of his books. So far this week, I’ve reviewed Lost and Found, Up and Down, and The Great Paper Caper.

Stuck

Floyd’s kite gets stuck in a tree, so he decides to try to get it down by throwing his shoe at it. But that gets stuck too, so he throws his other shoe. And on and on it goes until it seems everything that he could possibly throw at it is stuck in the tree as well, including his front door and a boat and an orangutan.

Another one of Jeffers’ books that is chock full of humor. You just keep wondering what else Floyd could possibly get stuck in that tree. The story is kind of absurd and surreal and strange, and those are all reasons to love this book.

I will say that the boy is quite selfish which might not be something that you want to read to your kids, though I think they’d be quite amused with the story and how he is just being a kid. It’s not logical, it’s not realistic, and it’s not what Floyd should do, but that’s the whole point! It’s fun and silly and ridiculous. A completely enjoyable read. Yet again. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Children’s Book Reviews: Stuck by Oliver Jeffers

  1. I love that you do children’s book reviews, as I love seeing the new “classics” that I’ll hopefully be buying and sharing one day with my own kids/nieces/nephews (it’s also interesting to compare them against the picture books I grew up with!) I recently read The Day the Crayons Quit and LOVED it, I thought it was such a cute idea! (and a very accurate portrayal of how much use certain colors get, haha).

    • Thank you! I love reading them and sharing the ones I adore. I’m doing the same thing pretty much – making a list of the ones I’ll buy for my future kids. Isn’t The Day the Crayons Quit just amazing?! So creative.

Leave a Reply

