Children’s Book Review: Up and Down by Oliver Jeffers

I’ve recently become kind of obsessed (okay, super obsessed) with Oliver Jeffers’ books. I love them. They are adorable and genius and simple and wonderful. Did I mention that I love his books? Haha. I’ve already reviewed The Day the Crayons QuitThe Incredible Book-Eating Boy and The Way Back Home. Anyway, I’ve pretty much read all of his books that are currently in my library’s system, so this week, I’m going to do six mini reviews of his books. So far this week, I’ve reviewed Lost and Found.

Up and Down

Another book in “The Boy” series, same as The Way Back Home and Lost and Found. I seriously adore this little boy and that dang penguin. Oh my goodness.

The boy and the penguin do everything together. Until the penguin decides he needs to learn how to fly…alone. The boy helps his friend as much as he can by researching ways to fly and trying to find flying experts to teach his friend how to fly. But the penguin finds his own way and when he heads off to do it, he becomes lost and the boy cannot find him. The boy figures out where he is, but will he be able to save him in time?

Just like his other books, this book is written and illustrated in Jeffers’ charming simplicity. His books make me smile the entire time. They aren’t just about a sweet friendship though. They are full of adventure and fun and suspense. Just wonderful. The friendship between the boy and the penguin is so genuinely caring – they will do anything to help and support the other.

Leave a Reply

