Summer Blogger Promo Tour – The YA Club

Today is the last day I will have a guest post for the Summer Blogger Promo Tour. So sad! I’ve had so much fun. Fear not, there’ll be a wrap up post next Sunday. 🙂

This Sunday, L.S. Murphy of The YA Club tells us about why her favorite book means so much to her. After you read the post, make sure you go check her out on her blog (which is made up of eight different bloggers – all of whom make up the YA Club, like the Breakfast Club. So cool). Or say hi to The YA Club on Twitter or tweet L.S. Murphy.
~

Rats Saw GodWe all have books from our youth we love. My reading varied from the Sweet Valley High books to Faulkner and Vonnegut. My love of reading may have started with The Pokey Little Puppy, but I fell in love with Young Adult literature during a college course and haven’t looked back since.

Actually, there is one book that really hit me hard: Rats Saw God by Rob Thomas. Yes, he who created Veronica Mars, which I LOVE. Rats Saw God is about a seventeen-year-old high school senior who has to write a one-hundred page paper in order to graduate. Steve writes about what brought him from Texas, where he lived with his father, to California to live with his mother, step-father, and sister. The story is raw and emotional, but that’s not what got to me.

I wished I had it when I was in high school. My parents divorced when I was a freshman, it wasn’t pretty. Steve’s journey from bitterness to understanding spoke to the seventeen-year-old girl who went through the same thing (without the drugs of course) over the course of four years. It was all most as if that book was written just for me.

A good book speaks to you, but a great book lives inside you and becomes a part of you. There are many books that have done that for me, but Rats Saw God burrowed into my heart and filled a space I didn’t know was empty.

One thought on “Summer Blogger Promo Tour – The YA Club

  1. Pingback: Summer Blogger Promo Tour: Wrap up! | Caught Read Handed

Leave a Reply

