Quote Quoted: The Lost Thing by Shaun Tan

The Lost Thing

I can’t say that the thing actually belonged in the place where it ended up. In fact, none of the things there really belonged. They all seemed happy enough though, so maybe that didn’t matter.

I’m not where I thought I’d be in my life right now, but it’s all about perspective, isn’t it? Be happy that you’re alive. Be happy that you have the things you need in life. Be happy that, while you’re not doing what you thought you’d be doing right now, you are doing something you love to do. Be happy you can read and that you have books. Be happy that you are surrounded by books. You can belong anywhere.

I’m going to quote from a song by my favorite band, The Neighbourhood.

They say it’s happy here, happiness is figurative, I’m happy ’cause of me, doesn’t matter where I’m living

So yeah. If you couldn’t tell, I really liked this quote. It’s from “The Lost Thing” by Shaun Tan, which is one of the illustrated short stories, collected in Lost and Found, which I would highly recommend. I particularly enjoyed “The Red Tree” from that book.

Leave a Reply

