Top Ten Tuesday: Books people have been telling me I MUST read

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. Today’s theme was:

Top Ten Books People Have Been Telling You That You MUST Read (whether because they think it’s a “you” book or it’s just been generally recommended so often)

**All titles linked to their Goodreads page**

Books I’ve been told to read and I’ve bought:

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern (recommended to me by at least six different people)

Legend by Marie Lu

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

The Summer I Turned Pretty trilogy by Jenny Han

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

Books I’ve been told to read but haven’t bought:

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman (checked out from the library)

The Help by Kathryn Stockett (audio book checked out from the library)

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Fangirl Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

What books have you been told to read? Link me up to your TTT if you participated!

27 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books people have been telling me I MUST read

  1. Loved fangirl! I feel like most book bloggers will find it highly relatable. I own E&P but have yet to read it (it’s on my list as well)! Night circus is beautifully constructed and I recommend it if you’re into books that aren’t YA. I just purchased the graveyard book, haven’t read it yet but I’m a fan of Gaiman in general. Great list!

  2. The 5th Wave isn’t stellar but it’s certainly an enjoyable read; mainly because it has multiple perspectives [4] with new voice additions coming into the sequel next month (3 days before TMR movie, shameless-movie-plug). Most readers who enjoyed the book love the male lead..but I think he’s kind of a creeper (like, Edward Cullen level creeper) but that’s just me and my ridiculous opinions…

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

  3. The Night Circus is great! I know other people have said that already, but it’s so ethereal and floaty. That’s probably a weird description for a book, but that’s the feeling I get when I remember back to reading it. Just don’t expect it to be a book about the circus. That’s not what it is.
    The Graveyard Book was also excellent. If you like audiobooks, this one is great in that format.
    I also did today’s TTT. https://hellphiesfiendishfiction.wordpress.com/2014/08/19/top-ten-tuesday-recommended-to-me/

    • Haha. I definitely don’t expect it to be about a circus. I think describing a book as ethereal and floaty makes it sound wonderful. 🙂
      You know, I’ve heard that about The Graveyard Book audio book. I might have to check that out instead of reading it.

  4. I really, really think you’ll like Daughter of Smoke and Bone. It’s beautifully written, and the prose is practically lyrical and the world building is very thorough, and it’s more sophisticated than other YA series I’ve read. I personally loved the Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, but I can see why others hate it (I think it really has to do with your personal tastes in paranormal YA and suspension of belief) but it’s definitely worth trying!

  5. Anything Rainbow Rowell is a MUST read! Love her books!!
    The Night Circus was super good and magical!
    Daughter of Smoke and Bone – I’ve only read the first and enjoyed it!
    The Summer I Turned Pretty – SO good! Super light summer read.
    The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer – YES YES YES! Loved it!
    The Help – I liked this one too!
    Gone Girl was good and suspenseful.

    My TTT

  6. What fabulous books! I’ve read most of them and they’re amazing! I also recommend Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi (I just dedicated an entire blog post to the beauty of that trilogy!!).

Leave a Reply

