Waiting on Wednesday: The Beat Goes On

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine in which we share a book that we are eagerly anticipating!

The Beat Goes OnPublisher: Orion

Author: Ian Rankin

Release date: UK Release Date – October 9, 2014

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Over the years, Ian Rankin has amassed an incredible portfolio of short stories. Published in crime magazines, composed for events, broadcast on radio, they all share the best qualities of his phenomenally popular Rebus novels.
Brought together for the first time, and including brand new material, this is the ultimate Rebus short-story collection and a must-have book for crime lovers and for Ian’s millions of fans alike.
No Rankin aficionado can go without it.

Why I’m Excited: OH MY GOSH!!!! If you’ve ever been on my blog, chances are you know that Ian Rankin is my favorite author. I own pretty much every single book he’s ever had published. John Rebus is one of my favorite literary characters (if not my favorite), and now I can own all of his short stories plus have some new material?! YES PLEASE. I need this book in my life, and I will pay the ridiculous shipping costs to have this sent over the ocean so I can read it. “No Rankin aficionado can go without it.” How right you are, Goodreads.

9 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: The Beat Goes On

    • Haha. I love that you’re afraid to ask. I could get pretty fangirly, but I’ll tone it down. He writes crime fiction, which I’ve never really gotten into (other than Sherlock Holmes), but the way he writes drew me in from page one. He makes Edinburgh, which is the main setting for most of his books, into another character, one that affects the characters just like a person. It’s so cool. Plus Rebus, the main character in this upcoming book and Rankin’s longest series, is awesome. He’s kind of crochety (sort of; like a dinosaur), obsessed with music and order, but lives a little on the line between good and bad. I just love reading his books. Plus it doesn’t hurt that Ian Rankin is super down-to-earth and cool. Hope that answers you without scaring you.

  1. Aw that’s awesome. You’re like THE Ian Rankin fan. Love how excited you are. I’ve never read a book of his….something tells me I should. Especially if I wanna stay on your good side :p

Leave a Reply

