SUNDAY FUNDAY: WEEK IN REVIEW [8]

The lovely Cristina over at Girl in the Pages started Sunday Funday as a way to recap the bookish (and not-so-bookish) things that have happened that week.

July 14 – 20, 2014

This week I went to see The Neighbourhood with my friend Jugee Georgie in Nashville. I had a super crazy week at work because of it, but I had an amazing time. It was my fourth time seeing them play live, and my third time meeting Jesse, the lead singer. He remembered me and was super wonderful. I had a blast, and it was totally worth the 2.5 hours of sleep I got and the 12 hours of driving in 24 hours.

IMG_8487

My interview with Lori Rader-Day, who wrote The Black Hour (which I LOVED), went up on WatchPlayRead! I loved the opportunity to learn more about her and her writing.

Coming up on the blog this week: Two children’s book reviews (Ox-Cart Man and The Dreamer); four comic book reviews (Saga [volume 2] and The Walking Dead, volumes 1-3); one book review (One Past Midnight) – possibly two; Top Ten Tuesday; Waiting on Wednesday – woah. A LOT coming up on the blog this week. 🙂

Books read: This week I read Fortunately, the Milk by Neil Gaiman; Saga [volume 2] by Brian K. Vaughan; Samuel Blink and the Forbidden Forest by Matt Haig; and several children’s books. I also started listening to an audiobook for the first time; I chose The Dead Father’s Club by Matt Haig and I am seriously loving it so far – the narrator is just perfect.

TBR: I had my first ever comic book haul this week! I’ve added all of those to my TBR obviously. I also checked out Odd and the Frost Giants by Neil Gaiman and the audiobook of A Spot of Bother by Mark Haddon from the library. I’m definitely looking forward to both of those.

I have a long (45 minutes or so) commute to each of my jobs so I’ve really enjoyed listening to an audiobook on the way. It makes the drive seem a lot shorter and I get to read/listen to even more books now! I never thought I’d enjoy audiobooks, but I definitely do.

Non-bookish things I’m excited about:

I just found out that Tom Felton is in this new show on TNT called Murder in the First; I’m not sure how I missed this, but all of the first six episodes are on Comcast’s On Demand, so I know what I’ll be catching up on this week.

Teen Wolf. Always.

What happened to you guys this week? Did you read any good books? Tell me about your week in the comments!

10 thoughts on “SUNDAY FUNDAY: WEEK IN REVIEW [8]

  1. I think we need to make a pact that whenever you go see awesome bands, you let me know. And also–if you’re ever in the Hattiesburg area you let me know. I am so sad that we never really got a chance to know each other in school and you’re just so awesome.

  2. Woman! How could you miss Murder in the First previews? I saw it a few months ago and stopped everything to announce “Draco’s in a new tv show” Charlie didn’t care but I was pretty excited.
    Awesome comic haul!! Can’t wait to see what you think of them 🙂

  3. I’m glad you’re enjoying your audiobooks. I can’t every concentrate on them. I’ve been watching Murder in the First just because he’s in it! It’s good at first, but the last few episodes have been kind of slow. (I’m terrible I keep wanting more people to die. haha!) I look forward to your review for One Past Midnight. 🙂

    • I didn’t think I’d be able to concentrate on audio books but I find that I actually concentrate on them and it distracts from how long and boring my commute is.
      Haha! I love Tom Felton. Hmm. That’s no good that it’s been getting slow. Hopefully it’ll pick back up!

Leave a Reply

