Summer Blogger Promo Tour – SJ Bouquet

This week for the Summer Blogger Promo Tour I’ve got the lovely SJ Bouquet on the blog. Her blog is super adorable and she’s a lot of fun. SJ recently tweeted this picture:

SJ Bouquet pic

I really liked that, so I asked SJ to tell me her top five favorite first lines from books. She’s picked some great lines and explained why she thinks opening lines are so important. Let’s see what she’s picked, shall we?

~

1. “My father took one hundred and thirty two minutes to die. I counted.” Jellicoe Road

2. “I am a coward.” Code Name Verity

3. “In a hole in the ground there lived a hobbit.” The Hobbit

4. “This is my favorite book in all the world, though I have never read it.” The Princess Bride

5. “If you are interested in stories with happy endings, you would be better off reading some other book.” Series of Unfortunate Events

I absolutely love a first line that makes me stop in my tracks and go “Wait, what?” These lines caught me off guard when I first read them. They made me raise my eyebrows and want to keep reading. I think a good sign of a good book and is an opening line that is shocking or confusing. A line that makes me think, “What the heck are you talking about? Why would you say that?”

Admittedly, some great opening lines aren’t shocking or confusing. Like with The Hobbit. In a hole in the ground there lived a hobbit. Congratulations. What’s the big deal? I’ll tell you what the big deal is- It’s poetic. The opening line for one of the greatest adventure, action packed stories of all time, is such a simple statement about the main character. Once upon a time, there was a Hobbit who lived in a ground. After reading about Bilbo’s adventures, and going back to the first page, I can’t help but smile. This Hobbit was so simple, like the first sentence of his story. He was a Hobbit who lived in a hole. By the end of the book, he was so much more.

Ugh. I love opening lines 🙂 This was a great post idea! Thanks for having me ❤

~

Thanks for the post, SJ! Make sure you go check out her blog and follow her on Twitter.

9 thoughts on “Summer Blogger Promo Tour – SJ Bouquet

  1. Pingback: Summer Blogger Promo Tour: Wrap up! | Caught Read Handed

  2. Pingback: Weekly Recap: July, 2014 – Week #4 | A Bibliophile's Style

  3. I haven’t read Jellicoe Road or Code Name Verity, but the other 3 are favorite reads! You’re absolutely right about their opening lines having a lovely significance once you’ve read the entire book (or series). You’ve given me an idea for a future post!

  4. The Jellicoe Road opening line makes it sound like it’s going to be a really good book…I think I have to try it! And I agree with everything about the importance of a good opening line as well. Another great job this week, ladies!

    • YOU NEED TO READ JELLICOE ROAD! It is confusing at first, but then there’s a moment in the book where everything just CLICKS and it all makes sense. And it’s perfectly normal to stare at the book in awe and hold it in reverence.

  5. I love all those opening lines. Opening lines are so important to a book, at least to me. You’re right that first one made me go “what?!” I have to look up that book now. Nice to meet you SJ. 🙂

Leave a Reply

