Top Ten Tuesday: favorite movies and TV shows

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. Today’s theme was:

Let’s talk about other types of stories! Top Ten Favorite Movies or TV Shows! (can break it down to top ten favorite romance movies or comedy shows etc. etc.)

So one thing you should probably know about me is that I’m a culture fiend. I love books, music, movies, television, theater, art… So I was really excited about this week’s Top Ten Tuesday so I could share some of my love of two of these things with you. I hope you don’t mind, but I’m going to give top ten favorite movies AND top ten favorite TV shows! 🙂

MOVIES:

Donnie DarkoDonnie Darko

El laberinto del fauno (Pan’s Labyrinth)

The Perks of Being a Wallflower (one of the best, if not the best book to movie adaptation I’ve ever seen)

Los Ojos de Julia (Julia’s Eyes)Julia's Eyes

American Psycho

The Dark Knight RisesDriving Lessons

Driving Lessons

Fight Club

Martian Child (I was going to put Say Anything, but I think I love Martian Child more because of that adorable kid)The Family Stone

The Family Stone (only during the holidays – but about ten times during the holidays. Haha)

I could go on and on, but I’ll end it there. If you couldn’t tell, I really love psychological thrillers aka movies that screw with your mind. And a few comedies. 🙂

TV SHOWS:

Teen WolfTeen Wolf (you’re all shocked, I know)

LostSherlock

Doctor Who

Sherlock

The Big Bang Theory

Criminal Minds

Bates MotelBates MotelAbout a Boy

Tom and
Jerry (yep, I’m a kid at heart)

2 Broke Girls

About a Boy

 

What about you? What are your favorite movies or TV shows?

45 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: favorite movies and TV shows

  1. I love almost every single one of the movies on your list! Donnie Darko, Dark Knight, Perks, Fight Club (OMG FIGHT CLUUUUBB!!)…the only ones I can’t say I like are the ones I haven’t seen. As for your TV list, there are only a few on there I can say I like (Big Bang Theory and Doctor Who). I don’t have cable or anything, so that’s really the only reason I haven’t watched the other shows.

  2. Literally Teen Wolf is my everything haha more like Dylan O’Brien! I also love 2 Broke Girls I totally forgot about that ….there are so many shows I am obsessed with that it made it hard to narrow down to just 10.

  3. I want to see Perks of Being A Wallflower, I just missed it somehow. That’s what DVDs are for, right?

    I think people get more out of Fight Club the first time they see it–or read the book, it’s just not quite the same the second time, but it’s still a good movie. And I agree, the Martian Child is incredibly adorable.

    • Trust me, buying the DVD of Perks is totally worth it. Especially for one of the deleted scenes. You’ve read it, right?

      That’s probably true. I still enjoy watching it but I can only watch it once or twice a year..
      Martian Child is just too adorable. 🙂

    • Donnie Darko is pretty scary for some people. Parts of it did frighten me, but I just loved it. I get so engrossed every time I watch it. Bates Motel is incredible. Personally, I don’t find it that scary…

  4. I completely forgot about Donnie Darko. I saw that one in HS and for whatever reason in completely, utterly, terrified me. I loved it though. It’s a fascinating film!
    Ok, one last confession… I think reading your tweets and blog comments about Teen Wolf has convinced me to test drive the show. Seems very entertaining.

    • It’s pretty scary. A lot of people are scared of Frank (totally understandable) but I think he’s freaking awesome.
      YESSSS! You should! Fair warning: season 1 starts a little slowly, but it gets good really quickly, in my opinion. I mean, just meet Stiles and you should be good. Haha. 🙂 Let me know what you think if you do check it out!

  5. First thing. I totally agree about The Perks Of Being a Wallflower, it is the best Book-To-Movie adaption I’ve ever seen too! Next, Pan’s Labyrinth made my list too! I love Guillermo Del Toro 🙂 Finally, though I didn’t focus on TV Shows I love your choices. Tom & Jerry is ace! And I love Doctor Who, Sherlock and The Big Bang Theory.

    Check out my TTT!

    I’m also currently running a Giveaway!

    Katrina @ Chased By My Imagination

    • Psychological thrillers seem to be my favorite thing to watch. And comedies. 🙂 Haha. I’m weird.
      Donnie Darko is one of those ones that you either hate or love, I think. 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by, Rachel! Headed to check out yours now.

    • You haven’t seen Donnie Darko?! Oh my goodness. Please watch it. It’s a psychological thriller. It’s fantastic. Let me know what you think if you do watch it!
      I LOVE Tom and Jerry. I still watch it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

