Summer Blogger Promo Tour: Ink on the Shelf

Summer Blogger Tour

Hi guys! Today is the start of the Summer Blogger Promo Tour hosted by The Book Bratz! I am very excited to have Jen from Ink on the Shelf on the blog today. She’s really awesome (and super awkward as you’ll see below) and you should definitely go check her out her blog (and follow her on Twitter)! Awesome and awkward? Winning combination, in my opinion. The following post is one of Jen’s “Moments of Jen” posts which I absolutely love and it made me laugh out loud several times. Enjoy!

MomentsofJen - Ink on the Shelf

Hi lovely people!

This is Jen here, from Ink on the Shelf and I am very excited to be guest posting on Stefani’s blog here today. Moments of Jen is a segment consisting of all the embarrassing things I do on a regular basis. Sometimes it will be about books, but mostly it’s about me acting like a Hufflepuff initiate.

There is something utterly ridiculous and uncoordinated about me which comes out in perfectly timed moments (a self-deprecating montage is flitting across my mind right now, feel free to send me any additional memories I may have repressed).  In moments like these, I can only cringe and hope that people find it endearing. I know they don’t though.

During the period in which I worked in an office, there was a giant shopping complex located a short walk away. My lunch breaks were spent rapidly spending the money I had just earnt like a small child who has just discovered that money can actually buy you all the things.(Note: I still haven’t really come out of this mindset, it is just I have no said money to spend presently 😉 ).

On one occasion, I was walking by one of the coffee shops when I saw a slice of cheesecake in the glass window (cue the chorus of hallelujahs). I decided this would be a great alternative for lunch, so bought it and started walking back to the office. The plan was to keep it in the fridge, and take it home in the afternoon.

Yes, I'm aware they don't have necks. It is an observation of mine that  people who attend the gym on a regular basis often have none.

Yes, I’m aware they don’t have necks. It is an observation of mine that people who attend the gym on a regular basis often have none.

I made it around the corner. Then decided I could not wait any longer. I needed to taste this cake. So naturally I found the nearest building and huddled under the patio, trying to subtly taste the culinary masterpiece in privacy.  It was only after a few minutes that I realised the building I was huddled near was in fact the major gym of the area.

The window I was looking into? The cardio exercise class.

The people inside the room staring back? Yes they could all see me. Eating cake. In front of them while they were exercising vigorously, sweating through their eyeballs.

I imagine they were either shaking their heads in disgust or swearing at me under their breath for bringing “cake-eating” impulses to the front of their minds again (yes, I have decided this is an actual thing. It explains a lot of violence).

I can see it now. In their minds, I was probably the girl who had tried summon up all the willpower I possessed in order to just drive to the gym. I had set a goal to be empowered, and sexy and fit. Only to be found eating cake at the door a few minutes later.

The cake was damn good though. It will forever own my soul.

MomentsofJen - Cake

InkontheShelf - Signature

 

6 thoughts on “Summer Blogger Promo Tour: Ink on the Shelf

  1. Pingback: SUNDAY FUNDAY: WEEK IN REVIEW [6] | Caught Read Handed

Leave a Reply

