Mockingjay Part 1: Teaser Trailer

You guys! The first teaser trailer for Mockingjay Part 1 was released yesterday, and OH MY GOSH is it incredible. A lot of people were really upset that it wasn’t an actual trailer for the movie, but I thought it was a brilliant piece of marketing. It’s very simple and understated, but it is also quite powerful.

President Snow (Donald Sutherland) sits on a white throne while Peeta (Josh Hutcherson) stands next to him. The pair are dressed in perfectly clean, brilliant white. Snow delivers a decidedly grim speech to the people of Panem:

Since the dark days, our great nation has known only peace. Ours is an elegant system, conceived to nourish and protect. Your districts are the body; the Capitol is the beating heart. Your hard work feeds us, and in return, we feed and protect you. But if you resist the system, you starve yourself. If you fight against it, it is you who will bleed.  I know you will stand with me, with all of us, together, as one. Panem Today, Panem Tomorrow, Panem Forever.

Watch the trailer below and fangirl with me!

My favorite part of this trailer is that it makes us all out to be citizens of the Capital. What a great marketing tool. Are we citizens of the Capital, brainwashed and obsessed with appearances and material items, or are we citizens of the districts, ready to rebel and break free of this oppressive system? It’s an ingenious trailer, and I am seriously impressed.

The look Peeta gives at the end of the trailer gave me chills! Snow knows that the rebellion is happening whether he wants it to or not, so he’s not trying to stop it. The speech is a threat, first and foremost. He begins by offering protection and food and a system meant to provide for its people. But then he turns cold and scary. He will destroy those who rebel against the system. He will not stand for it. Peeta stands beside him with his head held high. If you look closely, however, you notice that his tie has a point on it so sharp it could seriously wound him if he lowers his head.

Can’t wait for the movie! What was your reaction to the trailer? Are you as excited as I am?

10 thoughts on “Mockingjay Part 1: Teaser Trailer

  1. Pingback: New Mockingjay Part 1 Poster | Caught Read Handed

  2. Pingback: SUNDAY FUNDAY: WEEK IN REVIEW [5] | Caught Read Handed

  3. Pingback: Weekly Recap: June, 2014 – Week #4 | A Bibliophile's Style

  4. I was really excited when I saw this yesterday too! My internet is pretty crap so even in HD the video is blurry, so I didn’t actually notice Peeta’s tie, so thanks for pointing that out! You’re right, it’s an awesome marketing tool and a way to make it stand out against regular movie trailers.

  5. Oh, I saw this yesterday on Confessions of a Book Geek, and it almost made me cry! Of course, I immediately sent a link to Bert (since we’ve read the first 3 chapters of Mockingjay, there were no spoilers for him – yay!). I didn’t notice Peeta’s tie, but you’re right – good eye. I thought this “propo” style trailer was BRILLIANT!!! I know there is some grumbling about Mockingjay being split, but I’m excited, because I think it means we’ll get more scenes of Peeta in the Capitol (fingers crossed).

    • I mostly grumble about Mockingjay being split, because if any of them should be it should have been Catching Fire. That’s just my opinion. But I’m looking forward to seeing more of Peeta in the Capitol too. 🙂

      • Haha – I wasn’t even talking about you grumbling – I just meant book bloggers in general. In the books we see more happen in Catching Fire, so I get what you mean. As much as looking forward to Peeta’s scenes, I also know I’m going to ugly cry in the theater. 😦

Leave a Reply

