SUNDAY FUNDAY: WEEK IN REVIEW [3]

SUNDAY FUNDAY: WEEK IN REVIEW

The lovely Cristina over at Girl in the Pages started Sunday Funday as a way to recap the bookish (and not-so-bookish) things that have happened that week. I thought it’d be a really fun way to keep you guys up to date on what I’ve been reading, reviewing, and wanting to read but also to tell you a little bit more about myself outside of my book love. I think I’ll tailor the post each week to what I’ve done but I will always try to include a book haul and a new book or two that I’ve added to my want-to-read list. 🙂

June 9 – 15, 2014

This week I reached 100 followers on my blog!! I’m really excited about this because I’ve been blogging for less than three months! I also went over 3,000 overall views, which I’d say is pretty awesome.

Also, I won an ARC of Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern from Cassie over at Happy Book Lovers. YAY!

Books read: I’m sad to say I only read two books this week: The Revealed by Jessica Hickam (linked back to my review) and Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson (review coming tomorrow).

I also read and reviewed the five chapter sneak peek of Isla and the Happily Ever After. I CAN’T WAIT for that to come out!

TBR: BIG TBR this week!

I checked out four books from the library this week: Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys (based on this review by Booknerderi), The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater, Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern (right before I won the ARC), and The Strain by Guillermo del Toro (I am SO excited about this one).

Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys, The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater, Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern, and The Strain by Guillermo del Toro

I also bought these four books at Books-a-Million for $25! I originally checked out Second Chance Summer from the library, but when I went to return two others and renew SCS, I was told I had to return it because someone else had requested it! RUDE. Haha. So I bought it instead. In addition to SCS, I got The Evolution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin (for $3!!), The Daughter of Smoke & Bone and Days of Blood & Starlight by Laini Taylor (for $5.97 each!). Sales are THE. BEST.

Books-a-Million haul, June

I’m reading Brian Lumley’s Necroscope next. It is the first in a 13 book series, and I’ll be reading one book a month until I finish. My dad has been telling me to read it for a LONG time. He read The Humans based on my recommendation, so I decided to read something he recommended, though I know 13 books is a little different than 1. Anyway, I’m excited. I’ve been reading a lot of YA and contemporary recently. I needed something different. Also, yay for vampires!

Non-bookish things:

I went to see How to Train Your Dragon 2 today! WOW! It was amazing. I actually liked it even more than the first one, and I loved the first one. I would definitely recommend going to see it! Be prepared for awesomeness. Also some unexpected feels.

Today was also Father’s Day! I got kind of emotional this afternoon. I finished reading Second Chance Summer, which has A LOT of feels in the dad department. I was already crying reading the book, but when I finished it, I just couldn’t handle it. I’m so glad my dad was there for me to hug while I cried.

OH! I also got an internship with Month9Books this week! I’ll be interning with their PR department and helping with events. You guys should check them out. They publish speculative fiction, which if you couldn’t tell, I really like. 🙂

AND! I made a new friend this week. I’ve been getting to know a fellow Mississippi-based blogger, Booknerderie, and it’s been fun. She has an awesome book blog, so you should go check her out. Her reviews are honest, informal, and fun. And she uses words like “amazeballs”, which I really think should be used in more reviews. Haha.

Non-bookish things I’m excited about:

Look at this awesome shirt I got in the mail this week!!

ISN'T IT AWESOME?!

ISN’T IT AWESOME?!

TOMORROW my movie theater (all Cinemarks/Tinseltowns?) are showing “Rise of the Cybermen” and “The Age of Steel” (two episodes of Doctor Who from when David Tennant – Ten – was still the Doctor). I’m so excited to see these two episodes on the big screen! Should be fun. 🙂

What about you? What bookish and non-bookish things happened in your life this week?

10 thoughts on “SUNDAY FUNDAY: WEEK IN REVIEW [3]

  1. Congratulations on your 100 followers!!! And your internship 🙂

    This week marked the beginning of my summer break, which is great–more reading time for me 😀 I also purchased lots of books and went to an author event. I think I bought more books this week than I have in any week, lol.

    Aside from that, not much has happened this week. Well, I did start getting into the art of DIY shirts and stuff. That’s pretty fun 😀

      • It was an author event featuring the author Lauren Miller, along with a few others. It was really fun!

        Man, I got about ten books. I think I’ll probably do a book haul, haha! Some of them include Parallel by Lauren Miller, Twilight (the only book I actually liked in that series), and a few other books that I’d never heard of but looked SO interesting. At my library, there’s always a book sale going on, so that’s where I got some of the books.

        That’s awesome 😀

  2. Congrats on reaching 100 followers! Also, I’m excited to see what you think of the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series! Also congrats on the internship!!! Do you have any advice for those of us looking to find internships in the publishing industry?

    • Thanks!
      Um. I just sent them a speculative email that told them about who I am and the experience I have. They liked my email and my about me section on my blog. 🙂 I’d say be prepared to do grunt work and not get paid. This is my sixth publishing internship.

  3. I totally geeked out over the picture of your library haul because Guillermo Del Toro!!! BAAHH!! I must get this from the library next! I just have to finish about a bazillion books I already have from there first 😛 Also, I’m so jealous of you for two reasons: 1) How to Train Your Dragon 2 and 2) Your movie theater is showing Doctor Who episodes and mine is not…sad face

    • Right?! I love Guillermo del Toro. I’ve been wanting to read this for a long time, but it’s being made into a TV show and the first episode is July 13, so I wanted to read it before it starts!
      Dragon was awesome. Aw. 😦 Sorry that your theater isn’t playing DW.
      Thanks for stopping by!

    • 🙂 I’ve been really enjoying getting to know you, too!
      Haha. Well that means you’re stuck with me as well. I hope you know what you’re getting yourself into. Lol.
      YES! We need to get on that.

Leave a Reply

