Sneak Peek Review: Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

Isla and the Happily Ever AfterTitle: Isla and the Happily Ever After

Author: Stephanie Perkins

Genre: YA, Contemporary

Publisher: Dutton

Expected Publication Date: August 14, 2014

Stand alone or series: Last in a trilogy

How did I get this book: Sample via NetGalley

NOTE:I was provided with an e-ARC of this sample via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you to Dutton and Penguin Young Readers Group for letting me read this.

YOU GUYS! Josh is back!! AHHH. This sneak peek was the first five chapters of the book. My review will be pretty short because of that, but I just had to talk to someone about it.

Let’s start with a brief synopsis:

From the glittering streets of Manhattan to the moonlit rooftops of Paris, falling in love is easy for hopeless dreamer Isla and introspective artist Josh. But as they begin their senior year in France, Isla and Josh are quickly forced to confront the heartbreaking reality that happily-ever-afters aren’t always forever.

Their romantic journey is skillfully intertwined with those of beloved couples Anna and Étienne and Lola and Cricket, whose paths are destined to collide in a sweeping finale certain to please fans old and new.

What I thought:

YES. I kind of almost just want my review to be that and only that. YES.

I’ve only read five chapters so far, but I think Isla might actually be my favorite of the three girls. She’s quirky, a bit of a loner like me, sarcastic, kind, and adorably crushing on Josh. I took several notes that were basically the same thing: “hahahaha” or “aw” or “cute!” Isla’s secret crush on Josh is charming. It reminds me a lot of myself when I was younger: totally head over heels for someone but pretty much unable to speak properly when they’re around. Here’s an example of an exchange I lol-ed over:

He watches me quietly for another minute. “So…you were serious? You wouldn’t mind if I sketched you?”

“Yeah, I’d love that.” I love youuuuuuuuu. “What should I do?”

I doubt anyone is really worried, but this book is going to be just as adorable and sweet and funny and lovely as the other two in the series. Isla’s best friend is named Kurt Donald Cobain Bacon, and while I seriously hope we get an explanation for that name, I know I’m going to love him, too. I don’t want to give too much away, but he’s very literal in the way he interacts with other people and I can just tell he’s going to be a source of humor in the book.

I can’t wait to see how Anna, St. Clair, Lola, and Cricket tie in. I’m definitely looking forward to seeing Cricket again. 😉

The bottom line:

Is it August yet?

Have any of you guys read the sneak peek of Isla and the Happily Ever After? What did you think? Or if you haven’t read it, can we just fangirl over the fact that Josh is back in the comments?

Make sure you add the book to your Goodreads shelf!

7 thoughts on “Sneak Peek Review: Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

  1. Pingback: #BookBlogWriMo: #Top10Tuesday – Most Popular Posts | Caught Read Handed

  2. Pingback: Waiting on Wednesday: Isla and the Happily Ever After | Caught Read Handed

  3. Pingback: SUNDAY FUNDAY: WEEK IN REVIEW [3] | Caught Read Handed

  4. I saw that there was a sample of this on NetGalley, but I thought it would just be the first chapter that was posted online a month or so ago. I might have to go request it now. I can not wait for this book!!!!

Leave a Reply

