SUNDAY FUNDAY: WEEK IN REVIEW [2]

SUNDAY FUNDAY: WEEK IN REVIEW

Cristina over at Girl in the Pages started Sunday Funday as a way to recap the bookish (and not-so-bookish) things that have happened that week. I thought it’d be a really fun way to keep you guys up to date on what I’ve been reading, reviewing, and wanting to read but also to tell you a little bit more about myself outside of my book love. I think I’ll tailor the post each week to what I’ve done but I will always try to include a book haul and a new book or two that I’ve added to my want-to-read list. J

June 2 – 8, 2014

Books read: I finished reading The Chance You Won’t Return by Annie Cardi and read all of Paradigm by Ceri A. Lowe (both titles linked to my reviews). I had things I didn’t like about each, but I ended up enjoying both: I gave them each a 7 (pretty good) rating. Paradigm took me longer to read than I expected, but it turns out that the paperback version will be over a thousand pages! No wonder it took me four days. Ha.

TBR: I have an e-ARC of The Revealed by Jessica Hickam to read this week, as well as Second Chance Summer checked out from the library, due on the 14th. I’m looking forward to both of them, but especially Second Chance Summer.

I also added several novels to my TBR list on Goodreads, so head over to my profile to check them out. You know, if you want. Also!!! I received a sample of Isla and the Happily Ever After from NetGalley, and I AM DYING TO READ IT. Probably going to fly through it after I post this. I’m so looking forward to that book!

Non-bookish things:

Well, it’s actually somewhat bookish, but I saw the movie adaptation of The Fault in Our Stars yesterday with my mom and friend. Oh my goodness. Yes. So good. Please go see it. It’s beautiful, emotional, powerful, and everything I had hoped for. I didn’t review it, but you can read my little post about the book in which I ended by imploring you see the movie, “For me, for you, for Hazel Grace and Augustus Waters.” Note: remember to bring tissues.

Also, my mom’s birthday was yesterday. She got this adorable new bird, a parrotlet, as her present. She’s named her Roxanne. 🙂

Roxanne

Other than these few things, my week was pretty boring. Job applications, babysitting, life.

Non-bookish things I’m excited about:

Again, it’s pretty bookish, but my dad finally read Matt Haig’s The Humans, which I’d been trying to get him to do for about a year (I had the book with me in Scotland, so it’s understandable he didn’t read it for a while). He loved it just as I hoped he would, and he actually cried (at the same parts as me, too). He said the book was beautiful and fantastic. I don’t know if you’ve ever convinced someone you love to read a book that you love just with your love for it (lots of love for The Humans) and that you are hoping will appreciate it like you do, but the fact that my dad adored this book as much as I did makes me seriously happy. Now to convince my mom to read it.

There is a seriously beautiful and amazing woman on So You Think You Can Dance this season who has alopecia like me. I was watching the episode and she came on and I pretty much fangirled immediately. She is a freaking awesome dancer and I hope she makes it far. We don’t know each other or anything, but it’s like I had an immediate connection with her and I am proud of her. Check out her audition.

I bought this seriously awesome shirt this week from woot.com. I mean, Tinker Bell AND Doctor Who?! Um, yes, please.

Last Sunday I mentioned that I would probably be getting a couple of tattoos this week. It didn’t happen yet, but I’m hoping to do it soon. I’ll post pictures when I do.

So how about you? What bookish or non-bookish things happened to you this week? What are you excited about?

7 thoughts on “SUNDAY FUNDAY: WEEK IN REVIEW [2]

  1. I convinced my husband, who is not a big reader, to read THG trilogy. He read and loved the first 2 books, but hasn’t gotten to Mockingjay. I’m considering offering to read it aloud to him because it’s killing me that he hasn’t read it yet!
    I’ve got The Humans on my Summer TBR. 🙂
    It’s been years since I watched SYTYCD. Franchesca is a beautiful dancer! I wonder how tall she is? Her arms and legs seem miles long!
    That tee is awesome!

    My husband’s birthday is next week, and we’re having a party on Saturday. I’m really looking forward to it, but also stressing a bit about all the prep I need to do!

Leave a Reply

