Top Ten Tuesday: Freebie – Books by British Authors Americans Should Read

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. Today’s theme was:

Top Ten Tuesday Freebie! Pick your own topic!

So I spent a year living in Scotland pursuing my Master’s degree and while there I interned at several publishers and worked at the Edinburgh International Book Festival, so it’s safe to say that I read a lot of books. There are a bunch of British authors that I wish more Americans would read, and I thought it’d be awesome to use this freebie topic to showcase the Top Ten Books by British Authors I Wish More Americans Would Read. 🙂 A lot of them will probably be repeats from other TTTs, but that should show you how much I love them.

*All covers linked up to their corresponding Goodreads page.

1. Anything by Ian Rankin (start with The Falls if you want to try him, which I think everyone should)

The Falls

2. The Humans by Matt Haig (I’ve mentioned this book several times on my blog. READ IT!)

The Humans

3. Grow Up and Lolito by Ben Brooks

Lolito

4. The Universe versus Alex Woods by Gavin Extence

The Universe versus Alex Woods

5. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness (I’ve mentioned this one a few times, too, but it’s beautiful and deserves the attention)

A Monster Calls

6. The Good Man Jesus and the Scoundrel Christ by Philip Pullman (This book is a retelling of the story of Christ. It was fascinating and unique; a quick read)

The Good Man Jesus and the Scoundrel Christ

7. Laidlaw by William McIlvanney (okay, I’m sure a lot of people have read this, but maybe not so many people my age; this book has been cited by a lot of crime fiction authors as the foundation of crime fiction in the UK. Plus William McIlvanney is one of the coolest guys I’ve ever met)

Laidlaw

8. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

9. The Private Memoirs and Confessions of a Justified Sinner by James Hogg

The Private Memoirs and Confessions of a Justified Sinner

10. Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson (you know the story, but how many of you have actually read it?)

Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde

Bonus:

Okay, he’s from New Zealand, but I read it while I was in Scotland: The Rosie Project by Graeme Simison

the rosie project

 

Okay. So there are ten British books I think you should read. What did you do for TTT’s freebie topic? Link me to it below!

20 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Freebie – Books by British Authors Americans Should Read

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Summer 2014 TBR | A Bibliophile's Style

  2. I’ve read DR J & MR H! Loved loved loved it. Even scarier after having gone on a Jack the Ripper tour, too 😉
    I’ve eyed Ian Rankin and Patrick Ness for ages. Thanks for the encouragement!

    • That’s so weird. Maybe because adults think they should pay more for novels than for “children’s books”? Also, I honestly don’t understand why this book was printed without illustrations. They are such a huge part of this book. The illustrations are what made this book so beautiful and great. I wouldn’t have wanted it or liked it without them, I don’t think.

      • Well..the difference is only $2 off (10~12) I think. But you know readers are strapped cash anyways since most releases are so $$$ for my wallet. 😦 I just found it so weird cause I never knew that the book faux illustrations was available.

    • I’m from the US too! That’s why I posted this. These are all available in the US but not many of my American friends have heard of them. I hope you check some of them out! Let me know what you think if you do. 🙂

    • Yay! I’m so glad. The Humans deserves to be read by everyone and everyone should read it. It will make you appreciate being alive.
      Can’t wait to see what you think!
      Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

Leave a Reply

