Top Ten Tuesday: books to read if you like these tv shows or movies

toptentuesday

It’s Top Ten Tuesday again, you guys! Yay! This week’s theme as laid out by The Broke and the Bookish is:

Top Ten Books If You Like X tv show/movie/comic/play etc. (basically any sort of other entertainment)

You can find the rest of the themes for upcoming weeks HERE.

This was a particularly difficult theme for me at first because I thought that I should pick one specific tv show, movie, or play, but then I realized, I could just do ten different books for ten different tv shows or movies. So that’s what I did! Maybe this will help you find your next favorite read!

NOTE: I’ve never actually watched Breaking Bad; also, I have linked each tv show and movie to their IMDB page, and each book is linked to its Goodreads page.

Let’s do tv shows first, shall we?

If you like:

teenwolflogo

 

 

 

 

 

Read:

shiver

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you like:

the big bang theory

 

 

 

 

 

Read:

the rosie project

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you like:

doctor who

 

 

 

 

Read:

hitchhikers

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you like:

lost

 

 

 

 

 

 

Read:

S.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you like:

revenge

 

 

 

 

Read:

the robber bride

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you like:

breakingbad

 

 

 

 

 

Read:

Choke

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you liked and miss:

firefly

 

 

 

 

Read:

Consider Phlebas

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now movies:

If you like:

500 days of summer

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Read:

Paper Towns

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you like: (assuming you’ve read THG series)

THG

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Read:

Uglies

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you like: (again assuming you’ve read the source material)

Divergent Movie poster

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Read:

Maze Runner cover image 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Do you have any suggestions for books to read if you like a certain tv show or movie? Let me know below! Also, if you did TTT, link back to it below so I can check it out! 🙂

23 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: books to read if you like these tv shows or movies

  1. Pingback: Liebster Blog Award: Take 2 | Caught Read Handed

  2. Oh god, I can’t begin putting my love for Doctor Who, Revenge, Lost (especially LOST) and DIVERGENT (*heart failing*) into words!

    I hate Teen Wolf, but I do have Shiver bought and ready, waiting to be read! Hopefully it isn’t too much like the show and won’t disappoint. 🙂 Maze Runner is also waiting on my shelves!

    • I LOVE Teen Wolf. Did you just watch the first season? That season was good, but it got a whole lot better in season two and especially season three.

      I mostly chose Shiver because of the werewolves. Shiver has a really awesome back story to the werewolves that I thought lovers of Teen Wolf will like.

      TMR is AMAZING! Let me know what you think after you read both. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by!

      • Ehm, I think I watched the first season and a few episodes of season 2. I guess Werewolves don’t pull me in no matter what. Jacob ruined me in that way. Yuck. I’m still gonna read Shiver, though. Friends have been telling me it’s really good.

  3. Yay! A recommendation for Firefly! So what about Consider Phlebas brings to mind Firefly? I’ve heard a ton about the book and Iain M. Banks is on my tbr but I have this impression that he’s pretty heavy perhaps because I know he also wrote literary fiction. Will move this up the list and investigate it a little bit more than I have!

    • I chose Consider Phlebas because, like Firefly, it is about someone who is on the losing side of a huge space war. I mean, it’s not really a space western or anything, but I thought its dystopian plot was really cool. I will say I enjoyed the second and third books in the series better.

  4. Wow, I did 10 books / authors for Doctor Who and you still did a completely different book than any of mine! I think that just proves how rich the show is. I haven’t read Hitchhiker’s Guide (hangs head in shame), so I should probably get on that, huh?
    I’ve seen Breaking Bad (it’s my husband’s show, not my normal fare) and I can imagine that a book written by the author of Fight Club would be a pretty accurate choice. 🙂

    • Exactly. DW is so dynamic that there are a bunch of books that you can recommend based on it. I would definitely recommend checking out The Hitchhiker’s Guide. It’s really really good.
      Haha. I haven’t seen Breaking Bad, but from what I’ve heard from friends and the internet, I’d say Chuck Palahniuk is a good fit. 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by!

    • Haha. I like a lot of different things. This list definitely doesn’t represent all of my interests though.
      I mostly did Divergent and TMR because of the dystopian/post-apocalyptic feel. They aren’t really all that similar in plot or anything. I just think people who liked Divergent for its dystopian-ness will like TMR for the same. Also TMR is one of the most amazing books I’ve read so I want more people to read it! Can’t wait to see what you think.
      Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

