Top Ten Tuesday: “Gateway” books

I’m a little late to the party, but The Broke and the Bookish host a weekly meme called Top Ten Tuesday. Each week, bloggers post a list of ten books under a theme laid out on The Broke and the Bookish blog.

toptentuesday I’ve decided to join them in the fun. So this week’s theme is “Top Ten ‘Gateway’ Books”, meaning a book that got you into reading, an author that got you into a certain genre, a book that brought you out of reading slump, etc.

Here’s my list, which is a combination of all of those things:

1. Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie
This book is pretty much the reason I read. It sparked my imagination, inspired me, showed me how magical books and reading could be. It is my favorite story, and I’ve read it a million times.

2. The Harry Potter series
I don’t even know how to put into words my love for this series. But second to Peter Pan, it is why I read. I found them at exactly the right age, and they were with me as I grew up. I matured as the characters, and JK’s writing, matured. They were there when I went through my awkward pre-teens, my rough teenage years, and they’re still with me now, should I decide to go back and re-read them (which I do. Often).

The Falls by Ian Rankin

 

3. The Falls by Ian Rankin
I read this novel before I studied in Scotland for a month in 2010. I’d never read much crime fiction other than Sherlock Holmes and wasn’t sure if I’d like it. But Rankin is a master at his craft and I fell head over heels in love with Scotland, his writing, and crime fiction while reading it. I’ve since read every other book Rankin has written, met him on multiple occasions, did my honors thesis on the series that includes The Falls, and worked at Bloody Scotland (Scotland’s first crime writing festival) because of my love of crime fiction.

 

 

4. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
This is my favorite book. It is a modern day classic, and I cannot tell you how many times I’ve read it. There is a power behind it that words cannot explain.

5. Edgar Allan Poe
Mystery, horror, Gothicism, and creep-tastic stories. What’s not to love?

6. The Passage by Justin Cronin
If you haven’t read this book, DO IT. Yes, it’s 1000 pages long, but it is worth it. This book ignited my love of horror and reminded me that I truly love vampire stories, something I’d forgotten after the onslaught of Twilight and its many spinoffs.

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

 

 

7. The Hunger Games series
I’ve always been a fan of post-apocalyptic novels, but this series reminded me of that love. It had been a while since I’d read any novel in that genre, and because of it, I have read so many more since. These novels are fantastic.

 

 

8. John Green
John Green. Oh, John Green, how I love thee. He reawakened my love of young adult novels. He’s made me cry, laugh, empathize, and devour his books.

9. The Maze Runner series
Goodness gracious. I can’t explain my love for this series, other than to say, it is the reason I started this blog. I loved them so much that I wanted to tell as many people as I could about them.

The Humans

 

 

10. The Humans by Matt Haig
I got a free copy of this book from its UK publisher, Canongate, when I was interning there last year. I knew I’d like it but didn’t know I’d fall I love with it the way I did. This book makes you appreciate the fact that you are alive, that you are human. It tells you it’s okay to be the way you are. It’s funny, sad, serious, and just all-around breathtaking.

 

 

What are your gateway books/authors? I’d love to know! Link back to your list, and I’ll definitely check it out!

 

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: “Gateway” books

  1. Stories about vampires truly are amazing and it is easy to forget that among all the trendiness. I’ve had The Passage on my TBR for way too long – appreciate the push to get on with it!

    • Completely agree. You should definitely read The Passage if you enjoy brilliant, thrilling, and creepy vampire stories. It gave me chills on more than one page. Let me know what you think if you read it!

    • That movie is probably my favorite book to movie adaptation I’ve ever seen. I would definitely recommend reading the book if you enjoyed the movie.
      I wish I could make everyone read The Maze Runner. It’s so unbelievably good. Can’t wait for the movie. Hope you get to read it.
      Thanks for commenting! 🙂

  2. I’m probably in the minority here, but I haven’t read any John Green yet! I’m a little hesitant that I’ll go in with too high of expectations and then be disappointed, but I want to give his books a try. And Maze Runner- needless to say I need to read it before the movie, because the previews looked amazing!

Leave a Reply

